Intro to Poetry – Water

#introtopoetry

Poetry, Day One: Water
Let’s get started with the essentials: today, write a poem about water

 We waded into the ocean, how
quickly cold it was at first, we
saw children scurrying to and from the waves, when
further out we swam, she
pushed, pushed, and pushed us towards shore, but fearless
was the swimming,
was the embrace of the rise,
the fall, the release of the sand beneath our feet

The ocean was a deep, deep
blue, and the sky a soothing, soothing
blue, and only a slight, slight wind
blew

Ocean salt and mouth embrace,
the crashing waves stalking any silence,
and all now is love

I took inspiration from a recent trip to the beach, as well as the poem The Kingfishers by Charles Olson. What I took from his poem was the idea of ending a line with what would be the first word of the next line. It gave a feeling of a pause or a proclamation that I enjoyed. Further, I took from his poem putting first the adjective “fearless” and then subsequently describing what was fearless. Also, repeating the first word of lines, as I did with the sound of “blue.” Lastly, I embraced the idea of silence being something that is stalked from his poem, which the waves do at the ocean side. I did enjoy trying out those little things and I hope it made for a nice read. I think this is how I’m going to describe this particular aspect of my beach trip in the future and see how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

